Board Members

The MercyCare board has wide-ranging skills and brings a wealth of experience to MercyCare.

Mary Woodford


Mary holds a Bachelor of Laws, Master of Public Health, Bachelor of Arts (Hons), is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Fellow of the Governance Institute Australia.

Mary was appointed to the MercyCare Board in July 2014 and appointed Chair in November 2014.  She is currently General Manager, Advocacy, with the Law Society of Western Australia, having previously held the roles of Senior Legal Counsel at UWA and Consultant, Corporate & Commercial with Jackson McDonald Lawyers.

Mary is also a non-executive director of the Local Government Insurance Scheme, the Australian Pro Bono Centre Ltd, a member of the Catholic  Education Commission WA and Chair, Central Regional TAFE WA.

She has also been a director of HBF Health Ltd (until October 2018), HBF Insurance Pty Ltd prior to the sale of the general insurance underwriting business and a Director of HBF Financial Services Pty Ltd until 2009.

Mary has experience as a Company Secretary and Chair for not-for-profit organisations.

Darren Cutri

Deputy Chairperson of the Board

Darren was the Chief Finance Officer and Acting University Secretary for the University of Notre Dame Australia.

He was appointed to the MercyCare Board in July 2009.

Darren has 14 years' experience in the not-for-profit sector, in particular health care.

Twelve of those years were with the St John of God Health Care Inc Group.

Darren holds a Bachelor of Business from Edith Cowan University and is a Certified Practicing Accountant. 

He is also a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Dennis Banks

Dennis is a Councillor of the RACWA and was President during 2000 and 2001.  

He was appointed to the MercyCare Board in June 2011.

Dennis is a Director of RACWA Holdings Pty Ltd, and RAC Finance Ltd and the Chairman of the Investment Committee and IT Committee, and a member of the Nomination Committee.

He has served as Chairman of Club Board and Chairman of the RAC Travel Services Pty Ltd, and is an alternate Director of RAC Insurance Pty Ltd.  

Much of Dennis' experience is in the superannuation and financial services industry.  

His focus during 1987 to 1997 was the creation and development of ASGARD, the first Superannuation Master Fund.  

Following ASGARD, he was a founding Director and Shareholder of Benchmark Debtor Finance Pty Ltd, which was on sold in 2005.  

Dennis has also been a director on serval other boards in the finance and e-commerce sector, including iiNet Limited, Electrolley Pty Ltd and Auto Credit Finance Pty Ltd.  

He was also the Chair of the Board of Aquinas College and a Director of the Aquinas Foundation.

Mike Heath

Mike joined the  Hawaiian Group as Chief Operating Officer in November 2016. He has the day to day responsibility for the WA operation, including managing a portfolio of retail, office and hospitality assets with a value exceeding $1 billion.

He was appointed to the Board of MercyCare in November 2018.

Mike previously worked as the CEO of the St Ives Group and Perth Racing and held senior executive management roles at the RAC for 16 years.

He has an MBA and Diploma of Strategic Management and is a Fellow of the Institute of Company Directors and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management WA.

He is a Board Member of the Australian Institute of Management WA, Committee Member of the Carbine Club of WA and has been a director of several not for profit organisations.

Michael Kenyon

Michael is currently fulfilling the roles of Chief Financial Officer and Company Secretary for two publicly listed companies, as well as being a director of several other private companies.

He was appointed to the MercyCare Board in October 2013.

Michael was previously the Chief Financial Officer of two ASX 300 companies over the past fifteen years as well as being a successful business owner.

He has always been active in the not-for-profit sector and is currently the chairman of the Western Australian charity, Make A Difference. 

Michael is a Chartered Accountant, graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a certificated member of Chartered Secretaries of Australia.

Glennda Scully

Glennda possesses over 30 years' experience across a range of sectors including industry, public practice and academe.

She was appointed to the MercyCare Board in August 2012.

Having held several management roles in policy design, financial management, risk management, corporate governance and strategic planning, Glennda held the position of Head of School of Accounting at Curtin University for eight years.

Sitting on Curtin’s University Council and Academic Board, she is also a member of the Catholic Education Commission of WA, Catholic Education Finance Standing Committee and a member of the Archdiocese Finance Council.

Glennda is the current Chair of the WA regional council and Fellow of the Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand.

Jan Stewart (PSM)

Jan is a social worker by profession and graduated from the University of Western Australia with a Bachelor of Arts and Master's Degree in Social Work.

She was appointed to the MercyCare Board in February 2015.

From 1992 to 2014 Jan held the position of CEO of Lotterywest and prior to that worked as the Chief Social Worker at Princess Margaret Hospital for Children.

She was the inaugural position of President of the Asia Pacific Lottery Association from 1999 to 2004 and was again a member of the Executive Committee from 2012-14.

She was a member of the Hale School Board for 12 years and on the board of Save the Children for 5 years. 

Her current board positions include St Bartholomew's House, the Perkins Medical Research Institute, West Australian Opera, Country Arts, Chairman of the Raine Study Board and she is a trustee of the Feilman Foundation.

Jan is Chairman of the Advisory Committee of the University of Western Australia’s Centre for Social Impact and  is a member of the University of Western Australia's Sports Advisory Committee.

She was awarded a Public Service Medal in the Australia Day Honours of 2009 for her contribution to Lotterywest and the Western Australian community.

Jan was awarded an honorary degree of Doctor Letters by the University of Western Australia in 2016.

She is a member of a number of other not-for-profit boards and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.